• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

What's the deal with Cubans

KusoJijii

in your humidor
So I am new to cigars. Obviously.

I am just wondering if Cuban cigars are that much different than others or is it more of a "can't have so you want" thing. I would think with ability to crossbreed other types of tobacco and advancements in industry techniques, a superior smoke could be made outside Cuba.

Or is there something about the environment in Cuba that can't be reproduced outside of the island?

Remember, I am a newbie. Let the flaming begin...

So I am new to cigars. Obviously.

I am just wondering if Cuban cigars are that much different than others or is it more of a "can't have so you want" thing. I would think with ability to crossbreed other types of tobacco and advancements in industry techniques, a superior smoke could be made outside Cuba.

Or is there something about the environment in Cuba that can't be reproduced outside of the island?

Remember, I am a newbie. Let the flaming begin...

You should do a search, this has been discussed by many a newbie!

Read up and then get back to us.

Different strokes for different folks. Are cuban cigars better then non-cuban? Up to the individual smoker, b/c you're going to find someone on each side of the fence.

I've had exceptional cigars, that were cuban and non-cuban.

just replying to let you know I took your advise...

here's what I learned:

"...it's all a matter of perception as to if they are better or not. Some people love them, some hate them, some can't tell the difference..."

"taste is subjective to each individual"

"Just like any other country of origin, there are great, ok and terrible cigars."

"They have a unique flavor because of the soil the leaves are grown in."