• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

Fake Tubos?

mcoupe

Was telling my neighbor that my humidor was full so he offered me his as he doesn't smoke anymore. Brought it over and there were a few tubos in them.

They are pretty dry as the humidor was left to dry out. Just wondering if I should spend the time and try and bring them back - after all they were free.

I'm no ISOM expert but this Cohiba 35 Aniversario doesn't look right as I've never seen one in a tube and with this kind of label.

Can anyone shed some light on these? Thanks.

tubos.jpg

The Cohiba is fake. They all appear to be churchills and while it is almost impossible to tell from the photos you've posted, I would say the others are fakes by association.

I would be very interested in these specimens but especially the Cohiba as that is the first I have seen of that cigar counterfeited in tubos form. Please let me know if I can take them off your hands in trade of for cash.

Wilkey

The RyJ Churchill Tubo doesn't look right either, at least compared to recent production tubos I've seen. The curvature on the end of aluminum is not the correct shape/angle.

From what I can see on the band of the Cohiba, it looks as though the A in aniversay is pointing straight up. If thats the case it is fake. Check out the letter spacing on the band I bet you will find it not spaced correctly. We had a bunch of those come through Louisville a few months back. Only difference was the heads on the ones here were gold yours is black. I smoked a few of them and they were okay...

What Wilkey said. 35th is fake as can be... others probably are too, by association...

I've spoken with mcoupe and he's graciously decided to donate the specimen(s) to aid our studies of counterfeiting. I have genuine samples to do a comparison with...except for the spectacular Fauxhiba tubos. :thumbs: